365 One Word Art Journal Prompts

Standard

http://artjournalist.com/one-word-art-journal-prompts/

As we head into the second half of our session we perhaps need to renew our commitment to staying the course, resuming the morning page regime and thinking about what the NEXT right step is for you personally. There are so many distractions and opportunities here in SMA that it is very easy to become waylaid by the desire to not miss… anything that happening at all the venues around town,

In our previous lives we were perhaps skilled multi takers and here in retirement we still want to keep all the balls in the air, just different balls perhaps to the point of exhaustion and… omg, Artist Date burnout.

After hosting two back to back visitors for the last month this term aptly described me. Yes, I could fit in one more x,y and z into my day and week but I was starting to enjoy that x,y and z less and less.

Il having company and this is the first time anyone has come to visit me in Mexico but enough was… Enough. Last Thursday morning at 4 a.m. I stood on the cobblestones in front of my townhouse waiting for the Bajigo airport shuttle after which I basically crashed and burned and slept through most of the day. The whole day was a blur but I talked on Friday to go to Becky Peterson’s Studio and just relax and do some cutting, pasting and at journaling. I did not have to plan anything at all. I could simply be a participant.

What a novel thought after a fully tilt boogie month where my morning pages were sporadic, I was planning double or triple booked days of amazing and yes inspiring events but…

A very big but. During that month I did absolutely no work at all on my guidebook. I supported everyone else’s creative endeavors but let mine sadly slide. Even my blog posts were getting shorter and shorter, some not more than an annotated link.

Well, now at the end of February with just a couple of months remaining it’s time to reprioritize and put my back burner project back on the front burner where it wa hour was far too short!
s for my first two month here. According to my publisher, I’m on the right track but the track needs to be wider and deeper which I totally understand.

One of the many interesting tasks in Walking in the World is called Do Nothing.  My only comment on that was Julia Cameron’s recommendation of 20 minutes or a half an hour which in my opinion is far too short!

On Thursday I made a quick trip to the preview night for the San Antonio Open Studios, Friday, I had a play date and on Saturday I did nothing at all. I read a bit, cleaned my fridge, played Tetris on my tablet and had a restorative afternoon siesta.  I may have taken out the basura. I watched Access Hollywood and the Insider and knitted a bright green scarf for my Kids in the Campo Starbucks knitting circle. I stayed in my lounge clothes all day and did nothing even remotely close to what might be on my to do list IF I have a to do list which I don’t.

Ask me if I feel guilty for’wasting’ a at out of my snowbird winter. But,but,but there were fifty studios to tour and, and, and, and….. And would I actually be present enough to enjoy them?

No.

But the NEXT day after my whole blissful day of nothingness I did feel like visiting a few studios including Both Sweeney’s one which was in walking distance from my home in San Rafael. Topping those selected Studio visits I taxied over to Hotel Matilde to watch the live telecast of the Oscars under the stars!

Magical! Especially when Julia Andrews came out after Lady Gaga aka Stephanie sang a moving tribute medley of songs fromthe iconic Sound of Music. It WAS a moment…

About canmexartistway

I am a happily retired teacher/expat to be now relocated to the spectacularly beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. During snowbird six I decided to morph from snowbird to Mexpat! I'm taking the 'scenic route' geographically and metaphorically during the next 5 to 6 months as I downsize, downsize, downsize in preparation for an international move in the fall. Follow my blog at www.theaccidentalmexpat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

