Soul Collage and Art Journaling

Standard

image

No one can dispute that San Miquel de Allende is a wonderful backdrop for creating art meaningful to you. Last winter, I attended a number of workshops at Rebecca Peterson’s lovely pueblo style studio located just behind the Liverpool mall.

Last year, the themes were goddess oriented and thus year Rebecca has chosen Jungian themes because she is working in a PhD program in Jungian psychology. She owns a copy of the famous Red Book where Jung created a wide variety of images including mandalas!

During the last session, the theme was Rupturing the Mandala On the handout distributed there was a famous quotation from Leonard Cohen.

There’s a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.

Rebecca gave us a cd to do whatever we wanted. So I pasted the quotation on it, cut it into two jagged pieces and glued it on top of a torn paper sun. I made this a two page spread with my soul collage composition from the previous week in the right hand side of the repurposed book I brought to Mexico this winter for smashbooking purposes.

One of the workshop participants, Patricia was the group photographer and took this picture of me holding my Smashbook. Gracias, Patricia!

Leave a comment