Content, Sources and Teachers are Everywhere

Standard

Now that the internet is creeping into places global previously unconnected or even restricted it is fairly accurate to say that it is the number one innovation in education where the students are leading the way and traditional learning institutions are struggling to keep up let alone fully utilize the tremendous potential of this largely unregulated, largely unharnessed force.  And now adding smartphones to the mix and the whole situation becomes a ‘runaway train.’

Or not.

It is really up to the educational leaders of both traditional and innovative learning places to lead, guide and mentor what 21rst century is going to look like. Because, clearly, the center is not and cannot hold. With waves and waves of boomer age teachers retiring in droves it will be up to the next generation of leaders to step up to the plate and reformulate and reconfigure what schooling will look like five, ten, fifteen years from now.

As a happily early retired teacher and lifelong learner I am still periferally interested in the amazing and creative things that going on in schools these days but only from the sidelines.  My classroom teaching days in public school are over.

Slam the door.

So why am I here? that’s an excellent question and one that I will endeavor to explain in enough detail that it is comprehensible. For the last ten years of my elementary teaching career I spent a considerable amount of time, money and effort to pursue various avenues of interests that would help me segue into the golden retirement years.  Every summer, I tried to explore some interest and one magical summer I was accepted to attend documentary film school in Cuba!  I spent a month of my life making an eleven minute documentary film about one balsero in Old Havana who agreed to tell his story on camera.

But I digress. One other avenue that I started pursuing while I was still teaching full time was facillitating Artist Way groups first of all in the dining room of my home in downtown Penticton , B.C., Canada, then through the Unity Church in Nanaimo when I moved there and also when I was south of the border spending the winter in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico I led a group right in my living room which culminated in my apartment being one of the locations for the Ajijic Socieyt of the Arts Open Studio Tour.

Hence, right now as I have concluded my ninth Artist Way group, this time in an oceanview condo penthouse I am interested in exploring other venues in the city of Nanaimo where I now live. And speaking of where I now live. I am presently residing in a spacious home in the Hammond Bay area and have two spots set up for learning. One is my boudoir where I like using my smarphone and where I have a canine companion and one is the living room right next to a patio door where I can go for breaks or to enjoy either the sunshine or the night air. Being a natural night owl this present situation is ideal!

Especially wth my new Hewert Packard laptop sporting the newest 8.1 Windows Operating System. Blazing fast, this laptop is far from being the latest and greatest (and most expensive!) but it certainly is a quantum leap forward for me compared to my creaky Window XP laptop that wouldn’t even display the HarvardX course videos. I had to watch them on my smartphone on the small screen.

No longer.

About canmexartistway

I am a happily retired teacher/expat to be now relocated to the spectacularly beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. During snowbird six I decided to morph from snowbird to Mexpat! I'm taking the 'scenic route' geographically and metaphorically during the next 5 to 6 months as I downsize, downsize, downsize in preparation for an international move in the fall. Follow my blog at www.theaccidentalmexpat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

