Networks are the New Classroom Physically or Virtually

Standard

When I heard that networks were the new classroom I intuitively knew this to be true! As a newly retired teacher, new resident to Nanaimo and new snowbird in Mexico what I have found that through the use of various networks I have learned things and met people that formerly would have taken years and years and years.  The networks that I have used successfully are (and in no specific order of importance.)

Facebook and Twitter

WordPress, of course and other people’s blogs

Local resident online bulletin boards and Yahoo groups

Meet up groups  www.meetup.com

It is the last online network that I wish to discuss as it cuts across a few quadrants in terms of the four sector model we have studied.

Scot Heiferman, the CEO of Meet Up tells his story and explains the phenomenal success of such a simple idea that the worldwide web has carried around the world to connect people with similar interests.

What I am planning to do and have set the wheels in motion already is export this blog south of the border to San Miquel de Allende where  will be spending six months this winter. As a tourista, I am not allowed to work but I know enough writers and artists of all ilks like my blog’s title that may be interested in ‘continuing the ArtistWay’ via a San Miquel de Allende meet up group. This meet up group can take place in the living room of my lovely townhouse rental or in the Santa Ana Cafe at the Bibliotica or any number of spots around town with or without wifi.

If you go to http://www.meetup.com  and put in San Miquel de Allende in the new year you will find the existing Sustainable Living Meet Up Group and mine/ours entitled, ‘Continuing the Artist Way in San Miquel de Allende.’  When I return to Nanaimo, British Columbia in May I’ll simply change San Miquel de Allende to Nanaimo and carry on! As you can see fortuitiously, I chose an inclusive blog name, CanMex Artist Way.

Hence my learning/teaching design has north of the border and south of the border interpretations. And this suits my current lifestyle very well.

About canmexartistway

I am a happily retired teacher/expat to be now relocated to the spectacularly beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. During snowbird six I decided to morph from snowbird to Mexpat! I'm taking the 'scenic route' geographically and metaphorically during the next 5 to 6 months as I downsize, downsize, downsize in preparation for an international move in the fall. Follow my blog at www.theaccidentalmexpat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

