Enough Preamble: Time to Answer the Two Questions

Standard

Question Number One

Start wth your theory of learning by completing the sentence;

People learn best when… the learning environment and content design closely sync or match their individual learning style and modality be in visual, auditory, tactile or a combination therein. This class has definitely opened my eyes to new possibilities for teaching and learning in my post professional retirement years. Since I’ve only been retired for two years I was still interested in what is going on in innovative educational innovation but only to a certain point.

At 59, I have little or no interest in getting reinvolved in public education in any capacity especally with young children. However, I have moved into Teaching English as A Second Language to adults and find this both engaging and highly challenging. And I also am extremely happy to have discovered both EdX and Coursera because these two online learning consortiums will keep me pursung many different interests for years to come especially now that I have adequate hardware (a new HP laptop with Windows 8.1) and emerging opportunities to move into teaching English online to supplement my partial teacher’s pension.

In my previous experience with onlne university education at the University of Calgary in a Masters Level program in the specialization of Educational Technology a decade ago it was all about the grades. Distance online graduate school was an expensive undertaking and I had to make the most of it, no matter what. Well, fast forward to 2014. Both the monetary factor and the grade factor have been removed but I find myself just as involved and engaged because of the excellent design of this course. I especially appreciated the ‘reading week’ to catch up on the content which at first glance was a bit overwhelming, to say the least.

Even thought I went through my entire schooling in principally a hierarchal individual or hierarchal collective mode in my undergraduate and especially graduate studies I was exposed to a looser more distributed individual and distributed collective way to organize learning from my fellow students as well as the professor. Unfortunately, there are still some technological problems to work out to truly cross the ‘digital divide’ in the accessibilty sphere with the distributed collective quadrant.

About canmexartistway

I am a happily retired teacher/expat to be now relocated to the spectacularly beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. During snowbird six I decided to morph from snowbird to Mexpat! I'm taking the 'scenic route' geographically and metaphorically during the next 5 to 6 months as I downsize, downsize, downsize in preparation for an international move in the fall. Follow my blog at www.theaccidentalmexpat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

