UTC or Zulu Time Explained

Standard

First Component of Learning  Access F2F and Online 24/7

UTC is the time standard commonly used worldwide since 1972. It is used to synchronize time across internet networks. It is also used by meteorologists and the aviation industry, and is informally known as Zulu Time to avoid confusion about time zones and daylight saving time. It is popularly, but mistakenly referred to as Grenwich GMT or UT1.

The last Unhangout happens tomorrow on August 14th, at 13;30 UTC. In the increasingly wifi online world having a universal time zone sync will become more and more important. So to begin at square one, you will need a conversion link to change YOUR local current time to Zulu Time. Since my unlocked smartphone goes where I go here is a screen shot of my phone clock on UTC.. Right now I live in Nanaimo, British Columia on Vancouver IslandI where I use PST Daylight Savings Time but come November for the winter I will be on Mexico City Standard Time .

Zulu time according to my calculations is seven hours ahead of Pacific Daylight Savings Time. Hence I need to log onto the unhangout site at 7;30 a.m. tomorrow morning after putting on the java!

Hence, the number one indisputable component of twentieth century learning assuming that the ‘digital divide’ of type and accessibility of technology and bandwith is still taken into consideration is ACCESS. When I was in a principally online Masters program seven years ago  (technologially a lifetime ago!) I was thrilled that even though I lived in the interiour of the province it was unnecessary to physically travel to Calgary and suspend my professional earning life while doing so. By the dawn of the 21rst century it was possible and yes desirable to offer working professionals the opportunity to attend graduate school ‘virtually.’

The support support and software was fairly primitive in those early pioneer days of online university education but they did bode well for George Orwell’s  Brave  New World.

And today in 2014? The so called ‘digital divide’ has largely been bridged with the more and ubiquitous use of smartphones even in developing countries. It is a mobile world and these phones are reasonably affordabe and the cel phone service is much, much less than in Canada for example. Last winter, I brought a Chromebook with me but  I mostly  uploaded my postings to my blog from Starbucks or any aother  wifi hotspot in the Mexican colonial highland city of San Miquel de Allende using my cel phone. I also brought a Cannon digital SureShot camera but mostly took on the spot candid photos with my beoved Galaxy android phone. Samsung rules!

About canmexartistway

I am a happily retired teacher/expat to be now relocated to the spectacularly beautiful Harbour City of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. During snowbird six I decided to morph from snowbird to Mexpat! I'm taking the 'scenic route' geographically and metaphorically during the next 5 to 6 months as I downsize, downsize, downsize in preparation for an international move in the fall. Follow my blog at www.theaccidentalmexpat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

